
RETIREE ACCUMULATED SICK 
LEAVE (RASL) PROGRAM 

The following questions and answers clarify the RASL 
Program (A.R.S. §§ 38-615 and 38-616.)  
 
ELIGIBILITY 
 
Q:  How do I qualify for this benefit? 
 
A:   You must do all of the following: 

 1) Be an active State (including University) employee 
at the time of termination from State service. 
Termination may be due to voluntary or involuntary 
reasons, including death. 

 2) Establish an effective retirement date by qualifying 
with an Authorized State of Arizona Retirement 
System. This retirement date must be within 31 
calendar days after termination from State service. 
3) Have at least 500 or more hours of unused sick leave 
at the time of termination from State service.  The sick 
leave must be available for use at the time of 
termination from State service.   

 
Q:  What are the Authorized Retirement Systems 

available for current State employees? 
 
A:  The Authorized Retirement Systems are: the Arizona 

State Retirement System (ASRS), the Public Safety 
Personnel Retirement System (PSPRS), the Corrections 
Officer Retirement Plan (CORP), the Optional 
Retirement Program (ORP) established by the Arizona 
Board of Regents, or be an employee of a State 
University under the jurisdiction of the Arizona Board of 
Regents who participates in a Federal Retirement 
System. 

 
Q:  Arizona law (A.R.S. § 38-764 (I)) allows certain ASRS 

members to retire and receive a pension without 
termination of employment.  Would such a retiree 
qualify for the RASL Program? 

 
A:  No, the RASL Program requires a termination with 

retirement. 
 
BENEFIT VALUE CALCULATIONS 
 
Q:  What is the maximum benefit that I can receive? 
 
A:  The maximum total benefit you can receive is $30,000, 

per person, per retirement system, and the maximum 
number of sick leave hours you can be paid for is 1,500, 
per person, per retirement system. 

Q:  What is the difference between "deferring my 
retirement date" and "deferring my retirement 
payments”? 

 
A:  Deferring your retirement date means you have not 

established an effective retirement date that is within 31 
calendar days after termination from State service either 
because you have not met the retirement qualifications or 
for other voluntary reasons.  You would not be entitled to 
the RASL benefit.  

 Deferring your retirement payments means you have 
established an effective retirement date with an 
Authorized State Retirement System that is within 31 
calendar days after termination from State service and 
you have met all retirement requirements, but you have 
elected to take your pension distribution at a future date. 
You are entitled to the RASL benefit and have 180 days 
to submit the RASL application to the General 
Accounting Office (GAO.) 

 
Q:  How is the benefit value calculated? 
 
A:  The benefit value is calculated by taking the hourly rate 

of pay on the date of termination from State service, 
multiplied by the number of unused sick leave hours at 
termination (up to 1,500 hours), multiplied by one of the 
following percentages: 

• 25%; (at least 500 but less than 750 sick leave 
hours); or 

• 33%; (at least 750 but less than 1,000 sick 
leave hours); or 

• 50%; (at least 1,000 up to the maximum of 
1,500 sick leave hours). 

Example: If a retiree had a balance of 1,500 sick leave 
hours and terminated with an hourly rate of pay of 
$20.00 an hour, his or her total benefit would be (1,500 x 
20 x 50%) = $15,000. 
 

Q:  If I have more than 1,500 hours of sick leave, what 
happens to the unused hours? 

 
A:  Hours in excess of the 1,500 maximum cannot be used 

for any other purpose. Any excess hours will be forfeited 
and purged from all payroll systems. 

 
WARRANT OR DIRECT DEPOSIT PAYMENTS 
 
Q:  What do I have to do to receive the RASL benefit? 
 
A:  Retire by establishing an effective retirement date with 

an Authorized State Retirement System that is within 31 
calendar days after termination from State service. 
Contact your Human Resources (HR) office or 
www.gao.az.gov/rasl to get a Retiree Accumulated Sick 

Leave Certification Form (GAO-SL-50) and Checklist. 
This Form, together with the Checklist, must be 
completed by both the retiree and the agency HR/Payroll 
office prior to submission to the GAO. You have a 
maximum of 180 calendar days from your effective 
retirement date to ensure that your completed RASL 
application has been received by the GAO. 

 
Q:  What happens if I do not apply for RASL within  

180 days after my effective retirement date? 
 

A:  You forfeit your eligibility to receive the RASL benefit if 
you do not ensure that a completed application has been 
received by the GAO no later than 180 days after your 
effective retirement date. 

 
Q:  How do I receive the RASL benefit? 
 
A:  You will receive the RASL benefit in payments not to 

exceed a three-year period. You may choose to have a 
warrant (check) mailed to you or have your payment 
electronically deposited into your bank account (direct 
deposit.) You may be eligible to roll a portion of a 
payment into the State sponsored deferred compensation 
plan. 

 
Q:  May I elect a lump sum? 
 
A:  No, retirees do not have the option to elect a lump sum. 

Although A.R.S. § 38-615 has been changed effective 
9/30/09 to grant the RASL Program the authority to 
make lump sum payments for all who are RASL eligible, 
a change to the payment policy is not being made at this 
time. 

 
Q:  When will I receive the RASL benefit? 
 
A:  Normally you should receive a payment between 60 to 

90 days from the date the GAO receives your completed 
RASL application from your agency. Please be aware 
that your agency must wait until after your final agency 
paycheck has been issued to complete the agency section 
of the RASL application. Processing times are longest 
for retirees terminating from State service at fiscal year 
end (June 30) and at calendar year end (December 31.) 

 
Q:  Can I accelerate my benefit payments in the event of 

an emergency? 
 
A:  No, you cannot accelerate any of the benefit payments, 

except in the case of the retiree’s death. The State, 
however, reserves the right to accelerate or adjust the 
benefit payments subject to RASL Program requirements 
and the availability of funds. 

http://www.gao.az.gov/


The entire RASL policy and procedures are 
contained in the State of Arizona Accounting 
Manual (SAAM), section II-R, which is 
available on the General Accounting Office 
(GAO) website under Publications. 

STATE OF ARIZONA 

TAX and RELATED QUESTIONS 
 
Q: Is this benefit subject to Federal, Social Security, 

Medicare, and State tax withholdings? 
 
A:  Yes, it is considered earned income and not a retirement 

benefit. Federal, Social Security and Medicare taxes are 
withheld from each payment. Arizona State tax is also 
withheld, even if you move to another state, because the 
income was earned in Arizona. Amounts rolled into a 
deferred compensation account are subject only to Social 
Security and Medicare taxes. 

 
Q:  Can I expect to receive interest on the money held by 

the State? 
 
A:  No, A.R.S. § 38-615 does not provide for the payment of 

interest. 
 
Q: Can I put this money into a deferred compensation 

plan through the RASL Program? 
 
A:  Yes, you may be eligible to rollover a portion of your 

first payment into a State-sponsored deferred 
compensation plan.  

  You must do all of the following: 
 1) Enroll in Deferred Compensation prior to termination 

of employment. 
 2) Submit the RASL Deferral Notification Form directly 

to the state-sponsored deferred compensation provider. 
3) Ensure that your completed Form GAO-SL-50 is 
received by the GAO no later than 30 calendar days after 
termination of employment. 
 

Q: If I am eligible for Social Security, does the RASL 
benefit amount received count as part of the allowed 
earnings? 

 
A:  There is no clear-cut answer to this question. You may 

request a form from RASL stating that the benefit was 
earned in prior years (for Social Security purposes only.) 
Contact the GAO RASL Program for Form SSA-131. 

 
BENEFICIARY INFORMATION 
 
Q:  Can I name a beneficiary for this Program? 
 
A:  Yes, one beneficiary can be named and they may be 

different from a beneficiary named for another purpose. 
 
Q:  Will the beneficiary be eligible for this Program? 
 
A:  If an employee is eligible for normal retirement and dies 

while employed by the State, or dies while participating 

in the RASL Program, the beneficiary will receive the 
balance due in a lump sum (warrant) payment. 

 
Q:  How does the beneficiary claim the RASL benefit? 
 
A:  The beneficiary must submit a copy of the death 

certificate and a notarized affidavit (GAO-36a, GAO-
36b, or GAO-36c) to the GAO. The beneficiary can 
obtain blank affidavits from the decedent’s prior agency 
HR office or from the GAO website. 

 
OTHER POSSIBLE CONCERNS 
 
Q:  If I retire from one of the Authorized Retirement 

Systems with an excess of 1,500 unused sick leave 
hours, participate in the RASL Program, then hire 
into another Authorized Retirement System, will it be 
possible to transfer the unused sick leave hours in 
excess of 1,500 into the second system, rather than 
have them purged? 

 
A:  No, all paid and unused sick leave hours will be purged 

upon a retiree’s participation in the RASL Program. If 
you hire into another retirement system you will have to 
start with a zero balance and accumulate new sick leave 
hours. 

 
Q:  Can I leave State service (without establishing an 

effective retirement date with an Authorized 
Retirement System that is within 31 calendar days 
after termination from State service), hire into a non-
State agency or company, then later retire from the 
non-State agency or company, and still be eligible for 
the RASL benefit? 

 
A:  No, the State of Arizona must employ you immediately 

prior to your retirement. 
 
Q:  If I leave State service, am later rehired into State 

service, and then retire from State service, would I be 
eligible for the RASL benefit? 

 
A:  Yes, provided that you have the requisite number of sick 

leave hours and meet all of the other requirements of the 
RASL Program. 

 
Q:  If I go on voluntary leave without pay or any other 

type of approved leave and then retire the next day 
after the leave, am I eligible for the RASL benefit? 

 
A:  Yes, provided you meet the criteria for participation in 

the RASL Program. 
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